Tag Archives: The Bookseller

Crime & Thriller ‘competition winner’ goes to Transworld

______________________________________________

08.11.12 | Charlotte Williams  The Bookseller

______________________________________________

‘Transworld has acquired a “powerful first novel” by clinical psychologist S L Lewis, Don’t Stand So Close, signing a “substantial” two-book deal at head-to-head best offers.

Publishing director Catherine Cobain bought UK and Commonwealth rights in the debut from Madeleine Milburn at the Madeleine Milburn Literary Agency. Transworld will publish in early 2014, with plans to position the title for fans of Elizabeth Haynes’ Into the Darkest Corner and S J Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep.

The plot follows a reclusive psychologist who is forced to confront trauma from her past and secrets in her marriage.

Milburn said: “I’m thrilled with this outcome. I launched a competition earlier in the summer to get the word out that I was expanding into crime and thrillers. I chose this book out of 800 submissions because I knew it had huge international appeal.” It was pre-empted by Goldmann in Germany for six figures overnight before the Frankfurt Book Fair, with Longanesi buying Italian rights, De Bezige Bij/Cargo acquiring Dutch rights at auction, and Rocco pre-empting Portuguese (Brazil) rights.’

S.L. Lewis is also the author of two non-fiction books: An Adult’s Guide to Childhood Trauma (1999, Cape Town: David Phillip Publishers) and Dealing with Rape (1994, Johannesburg: Maskew Miller Longman).  As well as writing for several newspaper, magazines and journals, she has recently completed an MA in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University.

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under agent, author, Frankfurt book fair

The Bookseller

Holly Bourne for Usborne

01.06.12 | Charlotte Williams

Usborne has acquired a debut YA novel and an as-yet untitled second book by 26-year-old Holly Bourne, in the first deal for the Madeleine Milburn Literary, TV & Film Agency.

Usborne fiction director Rebecca Hill bought UK and Commonwealth rights, including Australia and New Zealand, in Soulmates, from Madeleine Milburn, and described the title as “a YA novel about the power of first love with a world-ending twist”. It will be published in autumn 2013.

It focuses on 17-year-old Poppy and Noah, residents of Middletown, who fall in love, but find their attraction moves time and space, causing lightning storms and a trail of destruction. Soon a secret international agency is on their tail, trying to separate them, and they are left with the choice between the end of the world and a life without love.

Hill said: “I’m so excited to welcome such a talented new voice to the Usborne list. Soulmates has a fearlessly fresh narrative, a hot-blooded romance to rival Bella and Edward, and a heroine with more effervescent cynicism than Caitlin Moran.”

Milburn added the book has “enormous appeal internationally”, with German rights already sold to DTV.

Leave a comment

Filed under author, Young Adult